Step 1: Create Blog

First blog post for Sew, Cook, Create! It’s been a long time coming…

Why blog? Though this will be included in a neat little About or FAQ section one day soon, I thought I should devote a small amount of my first post as to why I’ve started this blog.

My story isn’t really that different from other blogs out there; I have a few different skills/hobbies that I’d like to share with my friends and family. Oh and seeing as this is mainly a food type blog, it helps that I adore food. I love it. I love making it, baking it, eating it; it’s all good to me (and not so much to my tummy). Thankfully I have a supportive husband who helps me in whatever way he can, even if it’s eating a different type of brownie three weekends in a row. In a nutshell, we’re geeky Christ-loving newlyweds who adventure together doing various things like road trips, video game nights, movie outings and book reading. We love exploring and celebrating the differences between our two food cultures (I’m Australian, he’s American).

As much as I hope to use this blog as a way for our family and friends to keep up-to-date with what’s going on in our lives, it will also be a convenient way for me to store all our favourite recipes electronically. Don’t get me wrong, I love cookbooks! I’m just the type of person that when I’m in the kitchen I want to read and reread the recipe; I need to get my flour-covered hands all over that thing. It’s just part of my process. Unfortunately it means books don’t stay clean.

Now to the sewing part of the blog: One would think sewing would be a huge part of this blog considering it is called Sew, Cook, Create! I hope that one day it is, but for now it will be a chronology of my humble sewing beginnings. Other than Home Ec classes in High School, I haven’t done any sewing. My dream is to have a beautiful little sewing room that will double as our office. Sewing goodness and stationery love combined *happy sigh*. I’ll be enlisting the help of my big sister Em and my British friend Hannah and we’ll have sewing Skype dates or something. Hopefully it’ll be fun for you to see it all unfold from the beginning.

Now that I’ve covered sewing and cooking, there is only Create!!! Yes, cooking and sewing are technically ‘creating’, but I wanted the ‘Create!’ to encompass something greater and encourage bigger projects. I’ll also be sharing some lovely things from different sources around the web, hopefully inspiring you to get your ‘Create!’ on.

My goal is to post at least once per week (though hopefully I’ll post more often), and get Branden to post once or twice a fortnight. Also, I’m more than open to comments\suggestions\critiques, so if you think of something that should be added, changed, or updated let me know by commenting on this post.

As a closing thought, I wanted to say a huge thank you to my dear friend Hannah for all the brainstorming and WordPress support over the past couple of weeks. Thank you, really. Words don’t do my heartfelt joy justice.

8 thoughts on “Step 1: Create Blog

      • Thanks for that, hopefully there’s a bunch of people that like cooking, but also travel blogs haha 😉
        I’ve also added you to mine, so hopefully you will get some traffic through my limited followers 🙂

  1. You’re starting your blog for similar reasons to me; I do lots of cooking, sewing and knitting and I wanted somewhere to keep pictures, sort of a scrapbook of all the things I’ve created. Hope it goes well, I’ll be stopping by to see what you create!

    • thanks for the comment Claire. i thought after reading countless blogs myself i’d better get my act together and get one up and running. I’m always writing out my recipes for family and friends and thought this would be a good place to center it all and keep track of – hopefully inspire others too.
      all the best with your blog too.

  2. Excited! Let the sewing adventures begin!

    I am a cookbook collector but there are millions of awesome recipes online and I can’t wait to see what you share (and to share some with you). But I do love my dirty cookbooks… the dirty ones are the best ones!

  3. I love what you have done, the recipes look scrumptious, you did a fantastic job on all the details involved.I want to try my hand on one, especially the apple pastry(yum) first . All my love Maureen

Leave a Reply

