My Guy Friday Mega Movie Review

Good news, everyone!  It’s the first My Guy Friday post ever! Cue the cheering and the crowds. *waits for the cheering to die down*

Ruby and I have seen a bunch of movies over the past few months, so I’ve decided to make my first post be mini reviews of the movies we’ve seen.

So let’s jump right into it:

True Grit (Release Date 26 January 2011):
This one had a few big names in it, so I expected it to be…ya know…great. It wasn’t. It never really got past the “acceptable” rating. There was no real character development, and I honestly don’t really remember if the plot ever got resolved. Heck, I barely remember what the plot of the movie was! I think it was some sort of Western. I wish I could say it’s worth a DVD rental, but I don’t think it even warrants that.  Branden Rating: 2 out of 5.

Unknown (18 February 2011):
Liam Neeson. There, that’s all you need to know. For those of you that need more than that, Liam Neeson plays a doctor who goes into a coma after a car accident. When he wakes up, his wife says she’s never seen him before. Car chases and fighting follow.  Branden Rating: 4.5 out of 5.


Thor (21 April 2011):
Thor! God of Thunder! Superhero! Natalie Portman co-star? Thor, sadly, does not live up to the recent Marvel movie releases like Iron Man. It’s not awful, but the setting is very “fantastical” so it’s a bit harder to get into than many other superhero flicks. Especially if you’re not a comic buff like me. That, and Natalie Portman is a terrible actress and every scene with her drags the movie down. On the positive side, Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston do a great job portraying the blonde bombshell and his mischievous half-brother, respectively. Branden Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (13 July 2011):
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 or as I like to call it, Harry Potter and the case of the overabundance of cameos. Every single character you’ve ever seen will show up in this film. Most characters (other than the main 3) are on screen just long enough to say a single line before you never see them again. Past that, the movie is exactly what you’d expect. Harry and Voldermort fight, good guys win. Woo. Entertaining, but no surprises (even if you are one of the few people in the world who haven’t read the books). Branden Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Captain America (21 July 2011):
Captain America! Woooo! I had high hopes for movies, partly because of all the hype and partly because Cap is my favourite hero. As good as I hoped it would be, it was even better. Chris Evans was fantastic as Steve “Captain America” Rogers and Hugo Weaving was good as the evil Nazi scientist Red Skull.  The only downside to this movie: seeing Chris Evans digitally morphed into a scrawny version of himself, but with no change to his voice. Branden Rating: 4.75 out of 5.

Cowboys and Aliens (18 August 2011):
What do you think of when you hear these words: Han Solo and James Bond. Are you thinking of some cool secret agent in space thing? How about about something with cowboys? That wasn’t your first choice? Well, that’s probably why you’re not a famous movie maker. It was quite an entertaining film. But that’s about all there is to say about it. No one actor really stood out, the plot wasn’t very spectacular, and despite none of it having been done before, it kinda felt like it was done before. Worst part of the film? Not once did Harrison Ford say “I’ve got a bad feeling about this.”  Worth seeing on DVD, but don’t be too stressed if you don’t see it in theatres. Branden Rating: 3.25 out of 5.

Green Lantern (04 August 2011):
We waited quite a bit after its release to see this movie. I had heard some bad things from my friends in the States (where the film had an earlier release date) and was less than thrilled about seeing it. But there was a good deal on the ticket prices, so we bit the bullet. I was pleasantly surprised. It still wasn’t a great movie, but it was nowhere near as bad as everyone said it was. Ryan Reynolds was decent as Hal Jordan, but it was a bit too much of Ryan Reynolds playing Ryan Reynolds playing Hal Jordan rather than just Ryan Reynolds as Hal Jordan. Overall, it was a decent movie and I’m glad I got to see it. Branden Rating: 3 out of 5.

And that’s it. The end of the first MGF post. Now back to your regularly scheduled food programming…

2 thoughts on “My Guy Friday Mega Movie Review

  1. True Grit – I didn’t see – wasn’t really my thing. Just saw lots of clips in award shows lol.

    Unknown – I seem to have completely missed that one lol.

    Thor – I noticed it on at the cinema but out local is a bit pants so if you don’t go pretty much on opening night or the following 4 or 5 you can miss a film completely.

    HP – I agree but on the other hand there were some awesome moments. Neville comes into his own having been a bit of a wimp/background character for the whole series. When McGonagall takes charge that’s pretty cool (Especially given Maggie Smith must be in her 80s now or something like that) and Mrs Weasley sticking up to Bellatrix – everyone in the cinema cheered lol. My Mum on the other hand did ask me half way through “After all that, is she (J.K. Rowling) going to kill him (Harry) off?” I pointed out that I wasn’t going to give spoilers – and may have even quoted River Song at that point lol.

    Captain America – again with the pants cinema I was going to go but then missed it.

    Cowboys – I might go this weekend with my brother if he’s free. Then again i think My Mum wanted to go…..

    Green Lantern – I think i may have missed it but it was on my list of films to see.

  2. I thought the movie reviews were awesome! They were written by someone with an eye for cinematic realism and a great talent with words! I must admit however to preferring different sort of movies, but perhaps someday I will watch the Unknown.

Leave a Reply

